Please check the Missions' list of holidays that will observed this year.

Write your email address on the upper right hand corner of your application form to receive updates on the status of your application.




For residents of Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming including the US Territory of Guam:

The South African Consulate General
in Los Angeles, CA
6300 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 600
Los Angeles, CA 90048
Tel. (323) 651-0902
Emergency: (323) 244-0360

For residents of Connecticut, Delaware, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont West Virginia, British Virgin Islands, St Martins, Bermuda and Cayman:

The South African Consulate General
in New York City
845 Third Avenue
New York, NY 10022
Tel: (212) 692-2401
Cell: (917) 200-8396
Emergency: (929) 698-0052

For residents of Alabama, Arkansas, District of Colombia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa,Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma,Texas, Virginia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and Wisconsin:

The South African Embassy in Washington, DC
3051 Massachusetts Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20008
Tel: (202) 232-4400
Emergency: (202) 413-1953


This website is a joint project of the South African Embassy in Washington, DC and the South African Consulates General in Los Angeles and New York.

Visits to our offices are strictly by appointment only. Applicants are reminded to kindly ensure they make an appointment before presenting at the Embassy/Consulate General.

For COVID-19 Corona Virus updates, please visit the South African Resource Portal.

National Elections Voting Date in New York

Please note that, for those South Africans living abroad and registered to vote at the South African Consulate General in New York, the voting date for the 2024 National Elections is on Saturday, 18 May 2024 from 7:00 am until 7:00 pm.

To verify if you are registered to vote, please go to or scan the QR code: Voter Information.

Type in your ID number and verify that you are registered.

If the IEC verification indicates that you are registered and your voting station is in South Africa, you must change your voting station to the South African Consulate General in New York, 845 Third Avenue, New York, NY 10022 by completing the VEC10 on-line at:  or by scanning the QR Code: VEC10 Online.

If the IEC verification indicates that you are not registered, then the VEC10 cannot be completed as you are not on the voters roll.


NB: Passport and Birth Registration in New York

22 March 2023

Due to unforeseen challenges, applicants from the states/islands listed below covered by the South African Consulate General in New York will be temporarily required to submit their passport and birth registration application forms/documentation in-person. Normal operations will be restored once challenges have been addressed.

Connecticut Pennsylvania
Delaware Rhode Island
Kentucky South Carolina
Maine Tennessee
Massachusetts Vermont
New Hampshire West Virginia
New Jersey British Virgin Islands
New York St. Martins
North Carolina Bermuda and Cayman

Applicants under the jurisdiction of the South African Consulate General in Los Angeles and the Embassy of South Africa in Washington DC can still send their applications as per the usual arrangement. 

Attention: Applicants in the West Coast

13 July 2023

The South African Consulate General in Los Angeles is open to the public via appointment system only.

To make an appointment please email

Consular hours are from 09h00 to 12h00 only.

Applicants that fall under the jurisdiction of Los Angeles (Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington State, Wyoming, US Territory of Guam) should send or apply in Los Angeles.

Processing time for visitor visas is 10 days and may take up to 15 working days during peak times.

Authentication / notarization of documents are strictly by appointment only.

Attention: Applicants in the Midwest Region

20 April 2021

All the 14 states in the Midwest region which includes the following:  Illinois, Wisconsin, Nebraska, Iowa, Missouri, Minnesota, Indiana, Oklahoma, Ohio, Michigan, North Dakota, South Dakota, Kansas and Arkansas to forward their applications to the South African Embassy in Washington DC.

Schedule your appointment:

For further information visit the South African Embassy's website:

Attention: New York Applicants

The visiting hours strictly by appointment only for Immigration Affairs (non-South African applicants) and Civic Services (South African applicants) are from 9:00 am to 12:00 noon. Consular Services (South Africans in distress, not applicants) will be assisted upon appointment until closing time.

Appointments can only be made through the link below:

Tel : (212) 692-2401
Cell : (917) 200-8396
Emergency : (929) 698-0052 (Distressed and/or destitute South Africans only)

NB: BI-529/DHA-529

Please be advised that application for birth certificate requires the BI-529/DHA-529 when the application is made from outside the country.

  1. The form BI-529/DHA-529 must be fully completed by the applicant;
  2. The purpose of this form is to locate records at the Department of Home Affairs in Pretoria; therefore, all applicants must complete this form and ensure that the information furnished is correct and complete.
  3. Questions that are not applicable should be marked as ‘n/a’; if answers to certain questions are not known, they should be marked as ‘Do not know’
  4. Questions 9, 10, 11 of Part A are of particular importance.


Rev. Friday, 12-Apr-2024